♥ ♥ ♥

leaves and broth

In soup, year-round on 27 August, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Just a very quick post today: it’s the most beautiful day outside, I’ve been sitting in the sun eating kedgeree at Nikau and gelato on the waterfront, riding my bike around after three months of a flat tyre, just popped home to do some chores* before going back out for a walk in the town belt. I’m happy to say I’m embracing the advent of spring now, in contrast to last week.

Speaking of last week: it was intense. It culminated in me consuming a Wellington on a Plate burger at Bisque on Bolton, a three-course set dinner at Fratelli and an incredible Malaysian lunch at Kayu Manis (with the sensational Chef Wan, no less) within 24 hours. If you add a pizza on Saturday night and a massive Sunday brunch you’ll start to understand why I needed this soup.

It’s the perfect thing for coming down off an eating marathon, for trying to restore some sense of balance. It’s also all I want to eat when I’ve got a cold or when I’m so exhausted I can barely stand at the kitchen counter without my eyelids falling shut. It’s soothing in a non-guilt-inducing way and when you’ve had a long day or an overwhelming month it just barely whispers: “settle down now, everything’s fine”.

At its very simplest this soup is so incredibly easy to make: some garlic, some good-quality chicken stock, some herbs and seasonings, a handful of fresh greens. This time I added a fried egg and some toasted bread for a little more substance: had to ease myself off all those enormous meals I’d been eating.

Because there’s not much more to it than leaves and broth (especially if you leave out the egg and bread), you want to make sure you use the best stock possible. Homemade, if you can. If you haven’t roasted a chicken lately you may be able to buy chicken frames for stock-making (in Wellington, I get mine from Moore Wilson’s for about a dollar apiece). I usually toss one of these in a big stockpot along with the end bits and pieces of vegetables I’ve chopped and stashed in the freezer in a ziploc bag labelled “friends of stock”, some peppercorns, herbs, a few cloves of garlic, bay leaves, whatever else I have that might be happy to be tossed in a stockpot. Celery, carrots, onions, the lot. Bring it to the boil and let it simmer for a few hours. Your house will smell amazing.

*(and what better way to procrastinate from doing chores than writing a quick blog post?)

CHICKEN BROTH WITH GARLIC, SPINACH & A FRIED EGG

The most important part of this soup is the chicken stock, so try to use a good one, or even better, homemade.

Take a few cloves of garlic, peel them and either slice or leave them whole. Heat some olive oil in a frying pan and add the garlic. Fry gently over a medium-low heat until they go all golden but not so much that they start to turn brown (this will take a lot longer if you’re using whole garlic cloves, and you want to almost caramelise them, so don’t get impatient and turn up the heat. Or you could roast them).

Take the garlic out of the frying pan and add to a saucepan along with some chicken stock (about 1.5-2 cups per person should do – less if you’re not adding bread, since it soaks up plenty of liquid). Turn the heat to high; bring to a boil and then turn the heat down to low and simmer for about 10 or 15 minutes. Season to taste with sea salt & black pepper.

Meanwhile, toast some sliced crusty bread (day-old is fine: another way to use up all that stale bread in the pantry!). Once the broth is ready, ladle into bowls and float some baby spinach on top. Fry an egg. Float the toast on the soup and top with the fried egg. Sprinkle chopped herbs over everything – here I used parsley and dill but you could just as easily use sage, thyme, anything really.

  1. It looks like s lovely simple soup, good idea with the egg to add a bit of substance. I like your ‘friends of soup’ idea, il have to remember that instead I give them all to our worm farm.

  2. friends of stock, i love that :)

  3. I’ve never thought of saving my vege trimmings up during the week! Lovely idea. This meal looks delicious. And you reminded me of my weakness for waterfront gelato. Have you ever tried their ‘after 8′ flavour with peppermint and chocolate …. ooh… *trails off in distraction*.
    Great post!

  4. gorgeous! and oh how I can relate! that fratelli dinner nearly tipped me over the edge…

  5. What a beautiful bowl of soup, coincidentally chicken stock bubbling away on the stove :)

  6. peasepudding: a worm farm! If only I had one… and a garden to use the compost in…

    paula: :)

    timeforalittlesomething: I’m so in love with their lemon gelato (nothing is more refreshing on a hot, sunny day!) that I hardly ever try anything else, though I did have cherry on the weekend and that was amazing. Will have to try the after 8 next time. Sounds goooood.

    delaney: oh don’t remind me! (er, well it was SO good but I haven’t quite gotten back to normal eating since then… perhaps I need more of this soup)

    mairi: I bet your kitchen smelled delicious :)

  7. That IS a brilliant tip about vege trimmings, fantastic idea. Lovely soup and excellent egg, well done!

  8. My friend puts fried eggs on anything she possibly can. I wasn’t so sure, but had my first “fried egg pizza” with her and I was sold! This looks great, thanks for sharing!

    megan

    http://threetwentyeight.com/category/food/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

